Do Diabetics Need a Hobby?

Hello Hobby GREEN OWL - with writing

Everyone needs a hobby if you ask me.

My hobbies include writing a journal that lately has evolved into a blog, tinkering with my computer, DIY, crafts and online sales.  I file my own tax returns, too.  This keeps me busy and my days fly by.

My brother is a different ballgame.  To begin with, he’s a decade and a half older.  We have different fathers; his was killed in the World War ll, and after the war was over, my mom remarried and had me.

Now my brother lives alone, his wife is in the advanced stages of Alzheimer’s and stays in a home.  He is home alone and doesn’t know what to do with his time.  He is technologically challenged and this is to put it nicely.  He doesn’t own a computer and has been resistant to the idea of having it.  He doesn’t even have a credit card.  I am surprised that Social Security Administration sends him a paper check that he brings to a bank each and every month.  I thought I was technologically challenged for not having an iPhone, but he does not own any cell phone at all.  I am at a loss as what hobby to suggest; I am resting my case.

I own a prepaid LG phone and am just as happy with it.  Of course a computer that I’m writing this post on.

My point is that everyone under the moon needs a hobby.  Especially diabetics as this results in the positive emotions that help keeping your blood sugar at bay.

Smile - positive emotions

This entry was posted in diabetes, diabetes management, hobby, Type 2 Diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Diabetics Need a Hobby?

  1. Hahaha your brother reminds me a little bit of myself. I’m way younger, but I do prefer some of his ways. However it’s almost impossible to get around without credit cards etc. Great post! I like how you say ‘everyone needs a hobby’ That is very true. Lovely! 😊😊💚💛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

