Happy Mother’s Day!

On this day I can’t help but think about my late mother.  For one thing, she had diabetes and didn’t watch her diet. She baked a lot and then would eat her baked goodies, even after being diagnosed.  She has never counted carbs and would usually eat a piece of her cake, then another one while saying, “It’s okay if I eat a little bit.”  Her understanding of “a little bit” was incomprehensible.

I wonder if diabetes management was different back in the 1990’s.  My mom clearly had no idea of what she could and couldn’t eat.  I don’t think she even had an idea of what diabetes was.  She was stubborn and opinionated.  I know it’s not a nice thing to say about a mother especially on this day, but let me just say she had problems.  And leave it at that.

Fast forward to today.  I decided not to be like her for a number of reasons, with diabetes control being one of them.  I am watching my carbs, I’m exercising when my back is not killing me, I am independent despite rheumatoid arthritis that had put my hands out of shape.  The right one is worse, and with my luck I am right-handed. On my good days, I can write if I take my time.  Typing away on the keyboard however, is no problem.  Regardless, I can do everything independently and am proud of myself.

Thanks for reading my rant.

Happy Mother’s Day to all!

Happy Mothers Day

This entry was posted in carbs counting, diabetes, diabetes control, diabetes diet, diabetes management, mother's day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Diabetes could be control in the 1990s. BeforecI was diagnosed with Celiac’s disease I used to crave sweet. Your Mother probably crave them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

