2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 3 – Clean it out


2015 Diabetes Blog Week

Yesterday we kept stuff in, so today let’s clear stuff out.  What is in your diabetic closet that needs to be cleaned out?  This can be an actual physical belonging, or it can be something you’re mentally or emotionally hanging on to.  Why are you keeping it and why do you need to get rid of it?

My Yellow D2 Box

My Yellow D2 Box

My diabetic closet was initially intended for keeping my diabetes-related meds and supplies  along with my other meds.  Such as my meter, log book, lancets and strips, most of them sitting inside a yellow plastic basket.  Every morning I pull it out and put to work; once finished, back to the closet it goes.  Since it’s a linen closet type with shelves, naturally the rest of the shelves have to be filled with something.  Can’t just be sitting there idle.

Here now.  An old family photo album that I actually look at rather seldom yet can’t part with.  It’s one of the things that I don’t use much, yet they are like mementos from the past that I can’t part with.  After all, it doesn’t take this much room.  Sounds like an excuse, doesn’t it?

Here are some books that used to belong to my late dad.  He brought them here all the way from an old country where he had to be on a wait list and stand in line in order to purchase so they meant a world to him.  He kept them in a great big floor-to-ceiling bookshelf. To me, they are old, outdated, pages turned yellow from age, damaged & repaired, and really I don’t have any use for them.  Then again, I can buy them online in a much better shape if not new.  I am just not interested any more.  I am going to let them go.

Bottles of makeup and perfumes, tons of them; most half-empty and whatnot that I’ll have to go through and likely toss a good part of them.  This remains on my next to-do list.  I am a big procrastinator.

Then there are some household items that I keep there because I don’t have enough room in my tiny kitchen.  Kitchen towels, brushes, detergent, and such.  Will definitely keep.

Miscellaneous shelf.   Here’s my digital camera and the AA batteries that still have plenty of life in them.  A small pile of instruction manuals, will likely throw away most of them, comes this afternoon.  Yarn and accessories, will keep.  A box of 20-some pens for a dollar from a local discount drug store, all work.  All the pens are an easy-to-hold type that make my life with arthritis easier; will keep.

A box of cords and such.   Mostly cables and extension cords, and a spare GE surge protector.  Will keep.

Bedding, sheets, blankets, a winter coat, gloves, scarf etc.  Am definitely keeping.

Now that I got my inspiration, on to the next closet…

Thanks for reading.


I’ve written this post as a participant in Diabetes Blog Week 2015. Follow #DBlogWeek on
Twitter  for the latest updates from the event and participants.

.

1.  DISCLAIMER

This entry was posted in blog, blog week, blogging, clean it out, closet, declutter, diabetes, diabetes blog week, diabetes management, Organize, procrastination, type 2 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 3 – Clean it out

  1. Before you let those bookschecked with used books authority to seehow valuable they are. You have probably done that. I wished I had my father’s Rover Boys Collection. TI don’t know what happened to them. I like your comments throwing things out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

