2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 6 – Favorites and Motivations


2015 Diabetes Blog Week

The very first inspiration for Diabetes Blog Week was to help connect our blogging community, and that continues to be the most important reason it’s held every year.  So let’s help foster and continue those connections as we wrap up another Dblog Week.  Share a link to a new blog you’ve found or a new friend you’ve made.  Or pick a random blog off of the Participant’s List, check it out and share it with us.  Let’s take some time today to make new friends.

When I was first diagnosed, I was in shock and in denial.  However once the dust has settled in, I wanted to tell the whole world about my diabetes.  The problem was that I wasn’t sure if anyone would listen.  After having done some browsing, I stumbled upon Bob’s Diabetes site that really inspired me to start blogging.  He is a type 2, retired that places him around my age; his blog is very informative and well written.  Even though I disagree with some of his views such as his position on a diabetes diet, I find his site a very interesting read.  After having read a few posts on this blog, I became really motivated to start a blog of my own.

Fast forward to the Diabetes Blog Week Day 4, Changes.  After I was done with my post for this day, I went on looking what the fellow bloggers write about it, and came across this one, Changing Misunderstanding of Type 2.

The poster is talking about a common pattern of misunderstanding of  Type 2 and the stigma that comes with it.  The stigma is particularly bad with the type 2, says the poster, and I can’t agree more.  He states that since obesity & weight gain are associated with the type 2, we make a fundamental mistake if we make the leap in logic to think that just because something is associated that therefore it must be the cause.  He further describes the mechanics of the type 2 diabetes, the insulin resistance and Impaired Glucose Tolerance, and how the type 2 progresses.  He further talks about the “incorrect stereotype” and what it does to the patients’ stigma and the sense of self blame.  Brian states that to focus on obesity of the patients with type 2 is misleading, and in order to “really deal with Type 2 diabetes you have to take on the real cause, the real culprit, insulin resistance.”

Even though I disagree with the writer on his position about the pre-diabetes, overall I enjoyed reading this blog and highly recommend that everybody reads it, too.   I find it very motivating.


I’ve written this post as a participant in Diabetes Blog Week 2015.  Follow #DBlogWeek on Twitter  for the latest updates from the event and participants.

.

1.  DISCLAIMER

This entry was posted in blogging, diabetes, diabetes management, Health, misunderstanding, stereotype, type 2, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 6 – Favorites and Motivations

  1. Brian (BSC) says:

    Thank you for your kind words. It is quite a coincidence that you mention Bob. My post today for Blog Week was a resurrection of a post from 2010 entitled “Taking Control and Starting Insulin.” In some way’s Bobs journey is similar to mine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

