2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 7 – Crazy Stories


2015 Diabetes Blog Week

Diabetes can sure bring some crazy moments.  So tell us your Top 3 craziest D related stories!  If you can’t think of three, don’t worry.  We’re just as happy with one or two.

What’s crazy about diabetes?

Everything.

It’s a perfectionist, unforgiving, temperamental, anything that I would despise in a person I’m living with.  In case of a person, if I absolutely can’t stand him or her, I’d just let him go.  If he doesn’t want to go, he will.  I can divorce him again, if I have to.  There are plenty of options;  not so with diabetes.

Diabetes is yours for life, whether you like it or not.  Not that it matters, because it’s with you anyway.

No vacations from it and no time off, you take it or — wait a minute, you can’t leave it — so you just take it.   If I am just a little bit off, like skipping a snack or having my supper late, in the morning my BG number is up.  Still in the normal range but my usual numbers are lower than that.

It’s like feeding a monster inside me, giving him just the right food, in the right amount, at the right time frame.  A little bit off, and the next thing I know, this crazy monster is acting up.  Isn’t that something?

My friends had a party, and I couldn’t eat most of what everyone else ate.  Can’t have a wine cooler, high in carbs.  Can’t have a hamburger, too much of a fat content.  Ketchup is off limits, too many carbs.  Couldn’t have a cake although was tempted.  Oh the temptation, it was just about eating me up alive. I was mostly munching on my granola bar while sipping some iced tea and felt like an ugly duckling.

To add insult to injury, some folks don’t understand a thing about diabetes.  They think I’m being too extreme in watching my diet.  A little bit won’t hurt, they say.  Right, tell this to my diabetes.

Isn’t that crazy?  And oh, the communication with diabetes is completely a one-way street.  Like do it my way or no way.

Diabetes Rd ONE WAY SIGN


Bottom line:  everything about diabetes is absolutely crazy.  The worst part is that I’m stuck with it, and there’s no way out.

Forever Yours, Diabetes


I’ve written this post as a participant in Diabetes Blog Week 2015. Follow #DBlogWeek on Twitter for the latest updates from the event and participants.

.

1.  DISCLAIMER

This entry was posted in #DBlogWeek, BG., blog, blog week, blogging, crazy, diabetes, diabetes management, stories, type 2 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 Diabetes Blog Week Day 7 – Crazy Stories

  1. Tessa says:

    I blew all my hard work on Mother’s Day when 2 of the kids took me out for meals (large meals). One I did bring half home, but I ate enought there for several days and it still would have blown my sugars. I spent all night checking my sugar to make sure it was finally coming down. I am pretty much back on track. I take Glipizide. 10 mg supposed to have been 5 in the morning and 5 at night. I would forget the morning one all the time so they made it 10 mg at night. But it made my fasting glucose so low it was around 60 and dinner was out of control. So I am breaking the pills back in half and now my fasting sugars are higher and dinner is a little high, but I am watching what I am eating now. Sometimes all that is available is carbs that makes it rough. I am really trying though. I don’t want to lose limbs or die so finally getting myself together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

