MY SELF STUDY OF MORNING HIGHS

Morning highs described in detail in my other post can be caused by 3 things:  dawn phenomenon, Somogyi effect and waning insulin.  In my case, the last two didn’t apply as I am not on any diabetes medication and didn’t experience the 3am blood sugar dips (hypo).  I was certain it was dawn effect to blame.

Turned out that it was none of the above, but a fourth possibility, MY DISORGANIZED LIFE.  If I go to sleep at around 2 am, then wake up at 6am and check my blood sugar, oftentimes my results reflected the blood sugar spike that was an equivalent to 3am.  THIS WASN’T A FASTING BLOOD SUGAR.  Had I gone back to sleep and checked my sugar about 4 hours later, chances are it would be in the normal range.  For the longest time, I had relied on the blood sugar numbers that I thought were spikes.  However they weren’t even true fasting numbers.  They were simply taken at the wrong times.

So I put my act together and conducted a self-study.  For five days in a row I checked my blood sugar at 11pm, 3am and then 8am.  Mind you, I live alone so I go sleep whenever the mood strikes, and oftentimes it strikes close to 2am.  Then waking up at 3am wouldn’t do much good, so I moved my 3am to 6am.  You follow me?

It dawned on me that this is precisely what was happening oftentimes prior to doing said study.  I thought that I was having morning spikes, while in fact I relied on the numbers representing a midnight spike and NOT a fasting number.

So I switched my gears and started recording my true fasting numbers.

My study took off on Saturday, June 6, when my bedtime BG number was 128.  I usually don’t check my blood sugar at night but did it this time, to mark the beginning of the study.  The torture of getting up at 3am, checking sugar and then managing going back to sleep and checking it yet again continued until Thursday the 11th when I said enough is enough.  On some of these days I went to sleep at my usual time that is around 2 or 3am.  Hence my numbers after having slept only about 4 hours didn’t represent the true fasting morning numbers.  Had I not done my study, I would’ve been mistakenly thinking that these numbers were fasting ones and subsequently misinterpreting them as spikes.  Which they were not.

Here’s a recording of my blood sugar numbers for the duration of the study.

June 18.  Self Study Chart

Now my life has become more organized thanks to T2D.  Seriously, otherwise it never would.

1.  DISCLAIMER

This entry was posted in diabetes, diabetes management, hyperglycemia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MY SELF STUDY OF MORNING HIGHS

  1. Tessa says:

    I wonder if my current spikes have something to do with my sleep habits as well. The steroids should be out of my body now except for the steroids in my inhaler which really don’t affect it from what I can see. It seems more related to my crazy sleep schedule. Thanks for putting the possibility out there for others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Getting to know Anna. | a cooking pot and twistedtales

Leave a Reply

