TMJ Problems

TMJ stands for Temporomandibular Joint. In English, it’s the joint that connects the lower jaw to the skull. It started hurting yesterday while I was devouring my dinner. I figured it must have been due to my RA (rheumatoid arthritis).

I’m babying my jaw now. Went on a diet that doesn’t require chewing. Not necessary blended but soft and cut into the small pieces. I also went back on Diclofenac (generic for Voltaren), an anti-inflammatory med that I’ve been laying off for a few weeks thinking that I didn’t need it. Never say never so I’m back on it. Generally don’t have problems taking meds, it’s the chewing that’s killing me. Outside of chewing I’m fine.

Had to succumb to eating BOILED CHICKEN BREAST for dinner. This cut up in the small pieces goes down just fine. Had no problem with the soup, either. I’m so hoping this won’t last long. I hate boiled chicken breast.

Wanting to do something proactive, I went on googling (of course) and found http://www.tmj.org, the TMJ Association. It lists a few causes of TMJ disorders. A certain gene variant can cause it.  Both habitual gum chewing or sustained jaw positions such as resting a phone on my shoulder don’t apply to me. Ditto for being a singer or a musician. Having ruled out these, I’m left with this being autoimmune or arthritis. Most likely it’s my arthritis acting up.

Here’s to hoping it’ll go away. Meet my favorite soup mug, capacity 2 measuring cups.

My fav Soup Mug

This entry was posted in arthritis, jaw pain and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TMJ Problems

  1. Tessa says:

    Hope you feel better soon. I have it in both jaws and my Fibro starts it acting up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the kind comment

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

