How much weight I really need to lose

This morning I stepped on my bathroom scale and found out that I weight 152 lbs. Being 5’6″ tall, this places my BMI (Body Mass Index) at 24.5 which is an upper end of the normal range.

1

However I figured I can do better than that, or should anyway. Weighing 150 lbs or below would be my next step. 150 lbs would lower my BMI to 24.2 that is definitely normal range hands down. 145 lbs would place my BMI at 23.4. Love that.

2 and 3

Will be working on this.

Want to have your BMI calculated? Go to this site , enter your height and weight, then click Compute button and bingo.

BMI score table

1. DISCLAIMER

 

This entry was posted in BMI, diabetes management, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How much weight I really need to lose

  1. None Other Then Hannah says:

    BMI is a fraction of the overall wellness picture…If you lift weights for example you will have an off BMI. One thing I recommend is a total body composition. I have it done once a month, I’m going to be having a gastric sleeve done.

    I have been in the 200’s for over 8 years and for the past 4 have been working out and in the last year lifting weights. The body composition actually shows progress for example with interstellar water levels, been getting about 40-50 oz. a day and it’s showing up over time.

    Also, have been losing inches with the weight lifting, sit ups, pull ups, etc. I have thought long and hard about the surgery about a year actually. My BMI must stay at 38’ish to qualify as I have no co morbid issues with being obese. I was borderline anorexic long ago, then abused uppers for years.

    Been three years healed from self injury, and now the future looks brighter beyond numbers and disorders. I wish you wellness dear one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for your comment, Hannah. I am aware about the limitations of using BMI, however I’ve tailored this post to my circumstances. I don’t really exercise per se but am planning to start doing this on my good days. If my back starts killing me, I’m taking it easy. I also have problems with my hands being out of shape due to RA; this limits my exercising somewhat.

    In the past, I have lost close to 20 lbs when I stopped taking steroids for the RA, but now looks like the pounds start crawling back up on me. So I have to work on it.

    I wish you wellness, too, and thanks again. 🙂

    Like

  3. Good luck with it. Weight loss is not an easy journey but doable.

    Let me also use this opportunity to extend an invitation to a bloggers brunch party taking place on my blog on this weekend Sat-Sunday. The post is titled it’s a brunch party. I believe that it will be fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Jacq, your invitation accepted 🙂

    Like

  5. chattykerry says:

    Good luck with the battle. I, too, have put on a few pounds because of recent medication and I am trying to get back to a good BMI. It’s not a perfect measurement of health but it is a good place to start – fitting into my skinny jeans is my absolute measurement!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks, Kerry. Good luck to you, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

