A sequel to my earlier post – Aetna isn’t coming to my home

This is the first sequel to my earlier post ever, thanks to Aetna.  I mean, I’ve never written any sequels.  But there’s always that first time.  I have browsed the net and came up with this.

The Public Integrity website has posted an article on Aetna’s real reason for doing this. Turns out this was being offered by some (I bet most) Medicare Advantage plans, no doubt including Aetna. Most subscribers are eager to participate by buying into the myth that they’re getting a freebie that their plan so generously passes around, and that it’s all for their good. More so, they believe that their plan is genuinely interested in its subscribers’ well being. Yea right, and I am a Queen of England.

When I first heard about it, I knew that Aetna was up to something. Reading this article was an eye opener.

The Public Integrity site states that the health plans including Aetna, “tout the voluntary, free annual physicals as a major new benefit” that allegedly can help selected members stay fit and in their homes as long as possible. While no treatments are offered during said visit, the exam findings are reported to the patient’s PCP.

Of course, this is all about money. The site states that the house calls can be money makers for health plans when they document medical problems (whether real or perceived – this is my addition). Then the health plans can boost their profits because Medicare pays higher rates for the sicker patients, and that is based on a billing formula known as a “risk score.” The higher risk scores are directly proportionate to the health plans profits. So when a house visit unearths a medical condition as it often does because of the conflict of interest, health plans collect a pretty penny. The site further states that Medicare Advantage Plans have made nearly $70 billion in 2008 through 2013 due to the overbillings based on the inflated risk scores. They know they can do it and get away with it as Uncle Sam lets them to. This works like a positive reinforcement.

I knew Aetna was up to something. They left me a couple of voicemails and sent a letter to this effect. I in turn sent them an email requesting to leave me alone with their home visits and that I wanted to opt out. So far have received an automated reply.

Email to Aetna on April 6

My participation in the program is supposed to be voluntary; however Aetna is conveniently being silent about it.

This morning Aetna had a nerve to call my cell number once again.  Once I saw the number displayed, I knew who was calling but decided to answer anyway.  When a rep on the other end started the pitch, I interrupted and stated that I wanted to opt out.  This didn’t seem to register, so I gave her a brief version of my first post.   She continued despite my protests so I had no choice but to hang up.  Aetna will get over that, I am pretty sure.  So far they didn’t call again.  Seems like they’re getting the message.

I am just so pissed because their real reason is to rack in more $$ without revealing the real reason and with a total disregard to my rights to opt out.  Do they really think I don’t know how to browse the net?

Aetna isn’t about to make big $$$ on my policy, that’s for sure.

The above represents my humble opinion.  Don’t do this at home.

 

This entry was posted in Aetna, Health insurance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

