Daily Prompt – Burn

Burning the midnight oil is one of my favorite pastimes, but as you can imagine, not literally. I simply enjoy staying up all night catching up on the chores I left for later earlier in the day. My being a great procrastinator and a night owl to boot plays rather nicely into being awake for a good part of the night. The clock tells the time of 3 am while I am blissfully writing this post.

I’ve been thinking about writing a response to this prompt since the last daytime.  In my mind, I went through a few variations including candles and flames and burning desires yet not one materialized and produced a grand total of none. Comes nighttime, and here goes. Like a proverbial eureka moment.

I don’t see anything wrong with this habit of mine, and sometimes can’t help but wonder who invented the concept of sleeping at night, therefore if you can’t sleep, it means that there’s something wrong with you. I can assure you, there’s nothing wrong with me; I used to work nights and liked it, and now my internal clock continues ticking in the same manner.

Will catch up on my sleep closer to the morning as usual.
7. July 2. The Starry Night PIC

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt – Burn

  1. I’m an early bedder as my body clock puts me to bed by ten. I would love to sit up later but no joy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sure, daisies. To each their own 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Berni says:

    As the title of a book said, “Stop Worrying and Start Living”. We ought to have faith in God. Jesus is a lord over all the commandments, all the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

