Today’s Prompt: SANCTUARY. My home, my sanctuary

July 25. Sanctuary - my home my sanctuary

The word sanctuary can be defined as a place offering protection and safety. Naturally coming home comes to mind.

When we feel the need to escape from the hectic world, we come home to a sanctuary.  This is something we anticipate all day long.  The sanctuary is a perfect place to return to after a busy day and relax, read, text, write, meditate and whatnot.

The ideal sanctuary space would be a special room used solely for this purpose. If this isn’t possible, then a room divider can be used. This creates a visual distance from the rest of the place that is so integral to feel being in a sanctuary.

I live in a small studio where all I have is a room of 200 square feet. There isn’t an awful lot of room for creating a formal sanctuary, so I have to make do. There are however two possibilities, one is taking a hot shower and the other, drop in my favorite rocker recliner, in that sequence. Air conditioner is optional.

I love taking hot showers, it enables me to relax and clear up my mind. Feeling clean and refreshed afterwards helps, too. Many of my blog and / or prompt ideas dawn on me while in the hot shower, like a proverbial eureka moment. As far as my rocker recliner goes, it’s nice and soft; its reclining capability further adds to the relaxed feeling. It had survived two moves and still goes on.

Here it is:

July 25. Sanctuary

How I wish I could have a garden sanctuary! But I don’t even have a backyard. Oh well.

This post was written in response to The Daily Prompt SANCTUARY.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Photography, Sanctuary, Studio Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Prompt: SANCTUARY. My home, my sanctuary

  1. Louise says:

    Oh, I love your chair! I have one just like it that I bought for my first apartment that now has a place of honour in our living room. A great sanctuary! Hot showers are lovely too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s nothing like making a cosy corner yours. The amount of comfort received is indescribable.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Berni says:

    Inspiration comes when you’re alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Berni says:

    Inspiration comes when I’m alone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

