Today’s Prompt: LUXURY. Luxury or Blessing?

Today’s prompt is all about luxury.  Luxury is defined as a state of great comfort and extravagant living. The synonyms include opulence, lavishness, the lap of luxury, a bed of roses, along with a few others. I however think that most of the time we’re talking about a blessing rather than luxury.

The Free Dictionary defines the lap of luxury as a condition of both wealth and comfort.

I knew it, I knew it, I knew it. I knew that the money somehow has to do with the luxury. Really, how can you live extravagantly in a great comfort if you can’t pay for it?

So wealth comes first. This again is relative and highly subjective. Wealth means having lots of money or assets or both. However should one loses their assets or money, they come back at the square one or at least close to it. Then again, what is “lots”? Does that mean just enough or more than enough?

According to CNBC, everyone has their own definition of wealthy. Some say it in the terms of millions of dollars, while the others insist on comparison definitions, such as making more than your brother-in-law. Still others define wealth as not having to work or having strong relationships with family and friends.

The latter sounds to me more like being financially comfortable. This is where I am at right now. I am happily living on a budget and keep a close eye on my spending. I don’t have any bills partially for the reason that I can’t afford them. My income is considered low even by Uncle Sam’s standards yet I can manage which is a blessing. Nonetheless, I am nowhere close to being wealthy.

In terms of not having to work, I wish I could. I however am 65 and on disability so my chances of ever finding a job are next to none. I am blessed with having a good relationship with my family and friends, but again, I am not wealthy.

On to the comfort part. I own a condo that might seem luxurious to some yet another way around to the others. It’s a tiny place of 300 square feet; a room where I live is all of 15 x 13 feet. Am not sure how to call it, it’s not quite a bedroom yet not a living room either but somewhere in between. Sometimes I wish that I had a front porch on which to sit on a bench swing… this seems luxurious to me. But don’t get me wrong, I am fine where I am at. I just traded my old blue car for a 2002 VW Beetle and love it. Both of these contribute to my comfort a big deal. Still these are blessings and not luxury.

Aug 8. TDP Prompt - LUXURY. My Bug

I can manage my diabetes without any medications. Today my morning fasting number was 104. As you can see, I have a luxury of getting up at around 11 am. See how loosely I use this term? My neuropathy isn’t going anywhere but I can live with it. I think that both are blessings that I’m grateful for but not really a luxury.

Aug 8. Meter

By all means, I am quite comfortable at this point in my life, however am nowhere close to being wealthy or living in luxury. In my opinion, wealth does not necessarily equal happiness and only partially applies to the comfort. Think blessings.

This post was written in response to The Daily Post Prompt: LUXURY.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, diabetes, diabetes management, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Today’s Prompt: LUXURY. Luxury or Blessing?

  1. encounters says:

    Thank you for your post which resonates with me a lot, for me it is about relationships which make life worthwhile. You may not afford to go on grand holidays, or live in luxurious homes but if you can have healthy relationships that counts for luxurious living as it helps you not to suffer depression because you have a sound network of loving people round you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You seem to have a lot of common sense and that is more valuable than all the money in the world. People believe that more money brings happiness but it has been scientifically proven that after a person has the basic necessities having more money doesn’t bring any more happiness in fact it brings a lot of problems and a lot of more needs and wants that is why people with money want always to make more of it. I’ve known many rich people and I’ve never seen one happy because of their money. One of the problems of the rich is that they can have only rich friends. In fact as soon as people become rich they customarily change their old friends and even spouses. Rich people are also very insecure because they dread the possibility of loosing their money and become poor or being not rich. When that happens some of them even commit suicide or are totally lost because they can’t cope with not being rich. When one is rich also looses the joy and appreciation of simplicity that is one of the major components of happiness and contentment. This said although money doesn’t bring happiness security is very important that is why no matter one’s financial condition is, without becoming stingy it’s always important to save something for a rainy day no matter how small is the amount saved each day or week. The art of saving is a great art that very few people can master but it’s the major key to independence from money.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kewrites says:

    This so nicely written dear friend! the wealthiest people and not necessarily the happiest people, so let’s enjoy the blessings we have.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Berni says:

    I am the poorest guy in my neighborhood but all my neighbors envy my peaceful life, free of worries.

    My secret? Paying thanks to God everyday. He takes care of the rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey,

    That was incredible!

    Just to add, I am also luxurious enough to wake up at 10.30am and sometimes at 11am. 😀 But, yeah, the flow of the words and sentences were just like water, it went on smoothly and I felt that there’s a connect somewhere and I felt you are talking with me. At the end, you said, Think Blessings, Superb. That’s fabulous.

    I loved it.

    Stay Connected,
    Hasta-La-Vista,
    Sagar Agarwal

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree about being able to sit outside when it is sunny. It improves my mood hugely. Flowers and plants in the house helps too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Today’s Prompt: LUXURY. Luxury or Blessing? – i.luxury.blog

Leave a Reply

