Diabetes Management and Diet-to-Go

First off, I will disclose that I have received complimentary meals in exchange for my unbiased review.  That being said, I am satisfied with the quality of meals, customer service and my BG levels while on the plan.  I even managed to lose 1.5 pounds in the process and love it; this is something I couldn’t achieve prior to participating in the plan.  My daily fasting BG was around 104 – 105 consistently.  Even my neuropathy felt better.

Cooking isn’t one of my favorite pastimes; if I cook, it usually happens either because I have to or else at the spur of the moment.  Throw in the mix my studio appliances that aren’t very efficient, and you get the picture.  Still, I was able to manage my diabetes but was looking for a way to do so without having to cook.  This is when Diet-To-Go came along.

This plan is not a one-size-fits-all; you’re actually able to adjust and choose your meals based on your preferences.  The company was aware that I have diabetes; besides, the customer service inquired about my food allergies and/or preferences.  I thought this was very thoughtful and spoke volumes how the company cares about its customers.  I did have a few preferences that were taken into consideration when putting the plan together.

1 styro box

The meals arrived promptly in a matter of two days, delivered right to my door and packed in a huge styrofoam box with ice packs all over the place.   A printed menu was enclosed as well.   Since the box came in the late afternoon, there was a dinner for this very day; a Portobello lasagna with mixed vegetables.  It contained just a little over one carb or 20g (1 carb = 15g), and no trans fats.  It was tasty and the portion was just right.  Afterwards, I exercised and drank lots of water, then exercised more.  I felt this was a good start.   My starting weight on that day was 152 pounds.  I knew I could stand to lose a few of these and was very motivated to get there.

What I like about the plan meals is variety.  None of the entries ever repeat, it’s different every day so it’s not like you’re eating the same thing over and over again.  Definitely couldn’t do this with my home cooking.

Once you open the box, the contents look like TV dinners but don’t let this fool you.  The meals are fresh, healthy and taste delicious.  They are low-carb, low-fat, and the portions are just right. The entrees are big on vegetables. All the bread products (bagels, waffles) are whole-wheat with high fiber content.  The peanut butter was definitely homemade; unlike the commercial brands, it wasn’t sweet and had a pleasant nutty taste.  The Salmon with Brussels Sprouts I had for dinner was absolutely out of this world.

2 porto lasagna - Copy ww

3 Turkey Patty & chicken pizza - TWO TOGETHER - NEW

The meals were accompanied by a personal menu so you know exactly what you’re eating every day.

In the process of participating, I have lost 1.5 pounds, I feel more energetic and my blood sugar levels were in the normal range.  In fact, my diabetic neuropathy feels so much better now, thanks to the balanced diet.  I highly recommend this plan; try it, you won’t regret it.

The picture below shows my weight before and after.

4 weight BEFORE and AFTER

This entry was posted in diabetes, diabetes management, Diet-to-go, meal planning, Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diabetes Management and Diet-to-Go

  1. Rick Phillips says:

    Congratulations on a terrific review and on losing weight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How much would it cost you do pay for eg a week of the meals?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. About a $100 or so.

    Like

  4. That seems very reasonable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

