Diabetes and Depression

What a combo.  As if having diabetes wasn’t enough, out comes depression to make it complete.  Or was it the other way around?  This is reminiscent of an old chicken and egg dilemma. Remember, which came first?

Chicken hatches out of egg

Image Credit: chickenbreedslist.com

But I digress.  Back to the topic, people with diabetes (PWD) are more likely to have major depression compared to those who don’t have it.  Diabetes is a chronic condition that requires attention on a daily basis.  This can feel overwhelming at times and can take a toll on both physical and emotional health.

Diabetes affects emotions and emotions can affect BG level.  It isn’t clear whether depression somehow triggers diabetes or if having diabetes leads to being depressed.  In either case, there is obviously a connection.

The mere sound of the word DEPRESSION is reminiscent of a low mood, feeling worthless, having low energy, feeling sad and whatnot.  The blues.

9-sept-depression-cloud-pixabay

Image Credit: Pixabay

While everyone can occasionally get sad, clinical depression is far more than that.  Oftentimes it’s a lifelong challenge.  It can affect people of any age or gender or life situation; depression doesn’t discriminate.

Depression can affect our lives in so many ways.  It can range from work issues to relationships to drug & alcohol use or suicidal thoughts.

When you feel low and down in the dumps, a feeling of despair follows.  You might start thinking that no one can help you since they can’t change the circumstances.  Well, and you’re wrong.  What can be changed is the way you look at the events surrounding your depression; a different angle, so to speak.  I know this for a fact; been there, done that, right around the time of my divorce.  But I finally bounced back although this took quite some time.

The symptoms of depression can include feeling sad or unhappy especially in the morning; at times, irritable and angry.  Frustrated, having low energy, loss of interest in activity that you usually enjoy.  This can affect your sleeping pattern; you might feel anxious and restless.  You may experience guilty feelings and can’t concentrate.  Your eating pattern can change as well; you can eat much less or more than you usually do; you may develop unusual cravings.

What causes this beast?  Will cover this in my next post.

 

 

This entry was posted in complications, Depression, diabetes, mental health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Diabetes and Depression

  1. Berni says:

    Please also write a piece on anxiety. You are very good at research & presentation.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the comment, Berni. I highly value your opinion. Will do as you suggested.

    Like

  3. Rick Phillips says:

    As a person who ahs experienced clinical depression, I think that we find a cyclical spiral of issues. I am so glad I was able to find help. Therapy and medication have made a big difference in my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ow! What a great post! This was so helpful for me. I have diabetes and I think I’ve developed depression since then. My diabetes triggered about six months ago and weeks after I’ve became more sad and unhappy exacly the way you described. I never thought that would have a conection between diabetes and depression. Great post! So useful and I loved to discover your blog, I’m trying read all you wrote.
    PS: Sorry for any error, english isn’t my native language and I’m learning it.

    Like

  5. I can well imagine how exhausting, physically, mentally, spiritually that managing a chronic condition like Diabetes. The person is bound to feel unhappy about it and thus depression can set in.Your article throws light on this overlooked fact and it would be interesting to know your findings about what causes the beast .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

