Arid – the tale of an old light bulb

Incandescent bulbs have been around for the longest time and could be bought at the most affordable price.  Remember 25c a piece?  These days are long gone, following a Light Bulb Law signed by George Bush in 2007.  Scroll up to 2014 when the old bulb was phased out, punished for not meeting the federal energy-efficient standards.  Gone for good?

Not so fast.  According to EPA, “any type of bulb can be sold as long as it meets the efficiency requirements”.  Consequently this applies to ANY bulb including incandescent, just as long as it complies with the Light Bulb Law.

So yes, the arid incandescent bulbs are still being manufactured and sold. The price however went up tenfold as it usually happens with a more efficient product. The consumer pays, one way or the other.

Some manufacturers get creative.
feb-25-squirrel-cage-bulb-at-hd

For example, Globe Electric concocted a 60 watt Vintage Style bulb that goes for $7.56 at Home Depot.

You can buy a 6-pack of these on the Houzz website at a deal of $26.50, down from $90.

I miss the old arid incandescent bulbs and their respective prices dearly, as I don’t get along with the new mercury-containing bulbs.  Will post about that later.  Stay tuned.

This was initially written in order to describe the problems with CFL bulbs but edited to fit the Daily Prompt: Arid.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arid – the tale of an old light bulb

  1. annwjwhite says:

    I found you by accident of curiosity. I miss the old bulbs too. They had a softer light.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m no expert on bulbs, but the energy saving ones I have in my living room don’t like being dimmed. They start to flicker. This leaves me with either VERY BRIGHT chandelier or off completely. Annoying! Our local lampposts are all energy saving white lights (no idea what you call them). They are so dim and area doesn’t feel safe anymore. Anyway, that’s my input on my bulb knowledge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LydiaA1614 says:

    I have missed you! It was so great seeing your post in my email. I have been up and down with health the last 6 months and the email has piled up like crazy. I love your take on arid. I went the silly road!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

