Relapse

Confession time, I have relapsed. Of course I’m talking about my diabetes. Remember when I bragged about snapping out of it? Well, well. Not so fast.

By the way, you know how easy it is to admit your own mistake, more so here on WordPress? This is my lame excuse for putting posting on hold. I am beating myself up; not that it helps any.

No I didn’t snap out of it. My diabetes merely went into hibernation but it was still there regardless. Like hiding in the bushes and waiting for a good moment to lunge at me. Meanwhile, thinking I was in the clear, I consumed a few cans of the new flavor of Mountain Dew, lemon lime ice. It listed only 25g of carbs. Since one carb is 15g, the 25g would comprise roughly a carb and a half. So I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try. It didn’t really taste like a good old Mountain Dew but still good. I enjoyed it, albeit for a short while.

Checking my morning fasting BG, and it’s 125.

Uh oh.

I quit Mountain Dew on the spot. Started watching my carbs like a hawk, drinking a lot of water, having snacks every once in a while and measuring them by a cup, which I think is pretty safe. One cup at a time. About a week later, the morning fasting number is 121. A tad better but still not out of the woods.

7 July 18. Meter

I don’t know what possessed me to drink this stuff. Upon close examination, it does list high fructose corn syrup that should have made all my bells ringing. But alas, it didn’t.

Here’s the picture of a culprit (not counting myself).

7 July 18. Can front & back

So now I’m behaving and giving away all the Mountain Dew cans to my neighbors and the garage staff. I keep them in the fridge and the weather is hot here in the Midwest, so when I offer someone a cold one, everyone’s happy. I assume that none of them have diabetes. I am happy too.

It’ll take a long time to get my BG back to normal. Am not seeing the doctor and definitely am not looking forward to start taking diabetes medications. I am doing the right thing now and my fasting BG is getting better. At one point the postprandial was 112. So I’m getting there. Slowly but surely. Still am not taking any meds but I should have known better than that.

So now no one can tell me about diabetes cure. Think you’re cured? Drink some regular Mountain Dew and then check your morning fasting number. I bet you and I will be on the same boat then.

Thanks for the ear.

UPDATE: in the following morning, my fasting BG is 114. Being proactive and resisting temptations really works. Here’s to hoping it’ll go down some more.

This entry was posted in diabetes, diabetes management, Mountain Dew, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Relapse

  1. Pingback: Dandelion tea, anyone? – Gotta love my studio

  2. Consider making your own drinks with real citrus and carbonated water…There are some insidious things that happen in the stomach with Mountain Dew…Best to stop that before you gain a whole new problem to juggle!

    Like

  3. We are all human and sometimes we slip up but it’s important to get back on track as you did. Sounds like you’re moving back in the right direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kate1975 says:

    Anna,

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rick Phillips says:

    Yeah, want to test if a drink is likely to cause a sugar rush? Drop a few drops on your test strip while in the meter. When you see it hit something like 300 you will know what not to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.